Board of Directors

Meet your 2020 Board of Directors. Click on the Board member's title for a photo and short bio.

  • Commodore

    • Natalie Holliday

      commodore at 

      After a brief stint at Monroe Harbor followed by two years on the A dock, Natalie Holliday moved to the G dock in 2012 where she was introduced by her new neighbors to the CCYC and immediately joined. She became involved from day one, starting as a bartender, joining the House Committee, serving two years on the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society Poker Run Planning Committee, and captaining the Power Fleet. She spent 2 years on the Membership committee before becoming the Membership chair.  All of this lead to a board nomination to the Board, while serving on the Board she was invaluable to the adoption and integration of the club’s website and back office administration. She has spearheaded many new events and traditions that members now look forward to year after year. She’s looking forward to bringing back the sense of community and knowing your fellow Corinthians as well as giving back to those around us. If she's not running around the club reminding members to clean up after themselves, you can find her and her 31' Rinker, Nautalie, on the M dock or across the harbor at the golf course.

  • Vice Commodore

    • Brian Kennalley

      vice commodore at

      Brian has been racing out of Chicago Corinthian Yacht Club since 2008 as crew on a Tartan 10, and later owner of a Vanguard 15. Since 2015 he's a co-owner of the Tartan 10 Meat, the boat on "O" dock with the shark on the front and the steak on the back. The Meat team has won its section in the Chicago NOOD Regatta (2015) and the Chicago to Mackinac race (2016), was named the Chicago T10 Fleet's Boat of the Year 2015-2017, CYA Boat of the Year 2015, and won the 2017 US Sailing National Offshore Championship at the US Naval Academy. Brian also crewed on the winning boat of the 2017 St. Pete to Habana race (Spinnaker B) and the 2019 St. Petersburg NOOD (PHRF 2). Brian joined the CCYC Board of Directors in Fall 2016.

  • Rear Commodore

    • Brian Morgan
      RearCommodore at

      Brian Morgan is the owner of the racing sailing vessel Night Train, a Thomas 35. 

  • Treasurer

    • Christa Georgeson

      treasurer at

      Christa began sailing on her father's Buccaneer on a backyard lake when she was a young girl. She spent her summers cruising the inland lakes of WI and the Apostle Islands. After moving to Chicago, she was introduced to Lake Michigan racing by the friendly and competetive sailors of the Chicago Corinthian Yact Club's Rhodes 19 Fleet. She quickly joined the club with aspirations to give back to the sport. She raced and later owned a Rhodes 19 before moving into offshore racing. She is currently focused on racing the Laser Radial.  Christa is a co fleet captain of the laser fleet. She is excited to be a partner in building the framework for a Women on the Water network, sponsored by Corinthian University. She is committed to growing a culture where women and children are equitable members of the community.

  • Secretary

    • Rene Bernier

      secretary at

      Rene has been a CCYC member since 2016. He is a member of the Power Fleet and has completed 3 Chicago to Mackinac races. During his first year as a director, Rene was the Membership Committee Chair.  In 2016 and 2017, he was awarded the bartender of the year and the steward of the year, respectively. During the summer, you will find him in the Play Pen with his Power Boat friends or preparing for a distance race on Night Train.
  • Director

    • Marc Culler

      More information to come on CCYC's newest director.

  • Director

    • Jim Thuerk

      Jim has been sailing out of Montrose for 30 years and a Corinthian club member for 28 years. Jim raced  more in the past than the last few years. He completed 14 Mac Races, many port to port, and of course Wednesday night beer cans. This is Jim’s second year as a director and would like to put his efforts into our building maintenance.

  • Director

    • Dave Root

      More information to come on CCYC's newest director.

  • Director

    • John Woodcock

      John began his sailing journey racing Prams on Saratoga Lake in upstate New York.  After a long absence from the sport, he joined Chicago Corinthian Yacht Club while crewing on a Montrose Harbor-based C+C 110.  In 2014, he became a regular member as owner of the J/70 Hotspur and today also crews on the C+C 115 Archimedes III.  John's been active in the Club, serving on the Race Committee for the last several years, in addition to the working the occasional shift behind the Club's bar. John joined the CCYC Board of Directors in Fall 2019.

  • Past Commodore

    • Susan Nilsson

      PastCommodore at

      Susan Nilsson has been a member of CCYC since 2008. In addition to being the unofficial club photographer and prolific CCYC Newsletter contributor, she has been the Power Fleet Captain, Ship’s Store “Lady”, and CCYC 75th Anniversary Committee member. She currently serves on the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society Planning Committee. When she is not organizing another party at the club, you can find her aboard the 43’ Wellcraft Portofino His, Hers & Ours.

2016 Commodore's Ball